Yet beautiful

Almost all Christians in India believe a white person’s prayer is a granted one. Thankfully, it’s not the one who prays but the one whom we pray TO that bears the might to audit and act! I use every opportunity to explain that Jesus was most likely not even white, due to where he was born. This logic shocks most, brings many to protest. The Bible even goes so far as to call him ugly or literally “no beauty that we should desire him” (Isaiah 53:2). Unimaginable to Indians who highly value their outer selves and often pour honor based on appearance- rich and light (white) skin. But Jesus was a simple, dark-skinned, not so beautiful carpenter, and yet so much more than that.

May has been filled with much opportunity to share about Jesus’ good message- one that India needs to hear.

First at the annual conference of AFLC-I. Every day the services started earlier and more joyful. The kids program that I was a part of became longer and the attendees more excited. On average we had about 50 kids from 11 am to 10 pm. The afternoons were spent napping or enjoying communal meals under a huge tent in the campus’ sandy courtyard- it provided shade and a place for many Pastors and their families as they rolled up on the benches for a nap. In the evening the tent gave occasion to a late night dinner. I soaked in the presence of so many Christ followers. My extrovert self was glad to host people in my “dorm” apartment, too.

The kids program kept me busy. It was organized by two experienced CBC leaders (by now you should know that this means no day looked the same…). They had wonderful personalities- making jokes and entertaining the kids while sharing Bible stories. Then the kids were split in groups for in depth studies based on their age. I was in charge of games and English action songs. The balloon stomp game was a huge hit, as also the banana eating contest. I loved bonding with the kids through fun- despite language problems. And of course we sang many Telugu action-songs as common to every ‘VBS’… which became my repetitive humming for the rest of the week.

The last day had character. Not only were the food tables stormed by a hungry crowd (You could say it was scratching uncivilized behavior. To give you an example: In the midst of the pushing chaos an adult woman snatched the plate from one of my girls!! They literally were pulling it back and forth between them. In utter disbelief, I ordered her to take mine, a big shame to her…) but also I got swamped with prayer requests. The wave innocently started with one older woman but kept rising with entire families asking for blessing! The last day was also interesting because the kids received gifts based on their CBC booklet grades. They were called on stage by name and photographed by their proud parents. It’s a great way to integrate the kids.

After this successful 3 days, the campus and my purpose seemed empty until I discovered that the future 10th graders, who stay on campus for extra studies during the holidays, have their afternoons off. We play uno cards, carrom (an Indian board game) or other games -alternating between the girls and boys. One day we went to the park downtown and got ice-cream. Two times we organized an outing to the beach. One day I made jello and lemon-water and invited the kids into my AC cooled room. Now that the heat has climbed to its yearly max (I am amazed that my eggs are not hard-boiled in this heat! Praise be to our Creator who thought of the insolation of eggshells), I feel guilty for even living in such luxury. One day the girls and I had a small English tea party- biscuits included. Yesterday we celebrated one girl’s birthday. Traditionally at 12 am with cake, games, bubbles for balloons and ‘Happy Birthday’ crowns and songs …. Just here and there some treats and fun.

In between I lavished in wallpaper changes. First a trip to Guntur, a town of two hours distance, where the car’s tires were changed “Indian style”, we visited an English school (we are searching for a good place for a future AFLTS attendee- please pray as it is uncertain what will happen at this point) and a magician’s shop. It was a delightful day, topped with trying a new food called pani purim. Basically, you stand by a booth plate in hand and wait for little crunchy bread puffs that are in seconds speed filled and served with papoo (a lentil curry) and oils, and garnished with onions and cilantro. You eat as they come. Really yummy.

Secondly, I was invited to lead a Bible study in Rajamundry, a 7 hour train ride north. It turned into a lengthened adventure. Not only sleeping on an Indian train overnight, riding over the longest bridge in India, playing the violin and enjoying an authentic Indian life (Indian shower, bathroom and sleeping arrangement on the roof all inclusive!), but also visiting an Indian water park (with green, not white water) and exploring Rajamundry’s river sights. The Bible study was held on the flat roof of my friend’s house. We acted out the story about ‘The good Samaritan’, then answered questions about the Bible story and heard a small input, followed again by a line of prayer requests. I had the privilege to visit many families’ homes in the area to pray for them- for some reason they were surprised about my friendliness. Some family members of my friend came to request prayer, too. These visitors were always introduced as Harika’s “brother-in-law”. Highly confusing (she doesn’t have a sister), but the relationships are not defined in our use of terms. Everyone is an “aunty” or “uncle” or “sister” or “brother-in-law” when really they are cousins, far-relatives or family friends. Harika’s grandfather urged me every day to call him “tata” (=grandfather).

The next day at early dawn I was awoken to find a Pastor waiting in the living room (I knew him from Chorale). He had come to pick us up for two kids’ camps that day. We changed our return plans, and instead traveled to an outlaying village without power- because a storm had passed by the night before. The car’s AC didn’t work either, so we had to use ‘natural AC’ all day. The kids’ camps went great. The first took place in a very small church building with thatched roof and mud floor. The fans hung so low I was afraid to be beheaded by them. I shared the story of the lost sheep, then Emmanuel (my friend’s husband) taught a song and we played a game and ended the short program with a round of sponsored snacks. We, too, were overly served. As we were doing the program, plates of cookies, mangoes and other fruit kept coming in to feed us. The second village was the pastors’ home village. The kids were already waiting when we arrived. The church was an unfinished bony construction- the walls weren’t even up yet. We repeated our program- and here, too, we were served. I am so glad I like fruit!

This trip provided many new insights and sights. I saw women walking on stony roads balancing huge metal bowls of water on their heads, a woman washing clothes in front of a small hut that was equipped with satellite TV, I saw boys jumping off a high train bridge into the river below being heavily applauded by other swimmers, I saw a child that seemed to have a distended stomach due to malnutrition, selling bubbles. I visited two Hindu homes with idolatrous shrines and a woman dying of kidney failure. I saw a whole neighborhood being loved and influenced by my friend’s family. I think the last is my favorite memory. The community had a ‘small village feel’. Living a typical Indian life for 3 days helped me to understand my friends better, too.

Meanwhile back in Chirala, I tend my friendships and pray for those who are lost and shepherdless. Jaya Saari’s father died. This morning as I drove by her house a crowd of relatives just packed him on cloth. It was the first time I saw him, but I felt saddened. The Hindu mark pasted on his forehead- a lost soul, the truth never rang in his heart. I also had a very disheartened conversation with my Jewish friends. It seems the devil is taking a firm grip on them. Despite numerous sharings of the truth, after I returned from Rajamundry, it seemed the Rabbi had visited and pressed their conscience. Their porch dominantly carried a Jewish chandelier, I found miniatures inside as well. A.B. is growing a beard like Abraham now and explained its necessity to please God (even though he admitted it to be a tradition not a command). My heart is wrenching. The opportunities to accept Jesus as Lord were endless, and still they stubbornly, proudly rather reject him. In the conversation it became evident there had been some teaching or drilling better of alternative truths. Taking verses out of context. Still there was a breath of questions in the air. Even though I see the possibilities, I don’t know if meeting with the rabbi is a wise choice at this point. Evidently, their hopes are to pull me to their side. I will never leave my SAVIOR for something as hopeless as that. I fear it’s time to kick the dust off my shoes but I am not ready to make that decision yet.

Harika and Emmanuel still receive English lessons though less regularly at the time.

Yesterday I attended a wedding of a co-teacher. It had a lovely atmosphere- open air, in the winding streets of a neighborhood, colorful lights giving it a classy, elegant flare. I loved it. Please pray for him and his bride as he was not for the arrangement. When I had asked him about his up-coming wedding, he plainly said: “…, that’s when the problems will start.” He couldn’t even remember the bride’s name! Cover him/them in prayer!

I finally understand the phrases about “not being able to go outside” in May. The heat is unbearable. I didn’t even visit church today because I couldn’t think straight anymore. I hear the life buzzing in town at night now and my walks are canceled until further notice of a weather change.

Please keep praying! It will be a challenge to transition back into a regular schedule once school starts in 2 ½ weeks. Concurrently, I can’t wait for school to start again. On June 14th Jessica will join the ministry. I am very excited to finally have a co-servant and to welcome and introduce her to this foreign life!! Harika and I will pick her up in Chennai (6 hours train ride south). This, too, will be a small adventure as Jessica’s flight arrives at 3 am. Prayer back-up needed.

Jesus might not have had beauty outwardly, but inwardly he did! I don’t feel as if my feet are “beautiful” here (Rom. 10:15), but Jesus is using it anyway- inwardly in the humans’ hearts. Recently, I thought how good it is that I don’t see all he does- I won’t have to deal with that piece of pride at least.

Beautiful Jesus- loving these souls.

“Splendor and majesty are before him; strength and beauty are in his sanctuary.”- Psalm 96:6

#seekingthehomeland #Jesusisworthit

P.S.: Sorry for this lengthy update. I guess the month of May was more gain than I expected. I hope the many short- descriptions of life here will inspire to more armed prayer.

Leave a comment